Thursday, January 15, 2009


On June 7-14, Writers Hall of Fame, headquartered in Springfield, Missouri is sponsoring a bus tour to visit fifteen of Missouri’s most successful and well known children’s authors, artists, playwrights, and poets, many of whom are members of SCBWI.

Tour guide, Dr. Linda Benson, is professor emeritus of children’s literature at Missouri State University. Graduate and undergraduate college credit is available through Drury University and can be transferred.

The tour begins in St. Louis and moves to Kansas City and southwest Missouri before returning to St. Louis eight days later. Along the way you’ll meet in the homes and studios of Pat and Fred McKissack, Constance Levy, Lynn Rubright, Vicki Grove, C. B. Mordan, Eileen Bluestone Sherman, Cheryl Harness, Dorinda Nicholson, J. B. Cheaney, David Harrison, Judy and Ross Young, Kate Klise, and Veda Boyd Jones.

Other highlights include a riverboat dinner cruise with entertainment, a tour of historic St. Charles with costumed docent, a performance at Shepherd of the Hills Amphitheatre, and visits to Precious Moments Park & Chapel and Laura Ingalls Wilder home and museum.

Your tour will include round trip deluxe motor coach transportation, 7 nights deluxe lodging with hot breakfast and manager’s reception each evening, 7 dinners and 1 lunch. All taxes, service charges, group meal, gratuities and coach driver’s gratuity are included in the price of your ticket. Prices range from $1,169 (four in a room) to $1,711 (for a single).

For more information contact David Harrison ( To make reservations, contact Brian Garrison ( Reservations require $500 down and the rest by May 8.

Submitted by David Harrison

No comments: